AFTERLIVES : By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021

Save 15%
SKU: 9781526615862

Rs. 510 Rs. 599
Add to Wishlist



  • Author : Abdulrazak Gurnah
  • Imprint : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Binding : Trade Paperback
  • Publication Date : 29-10-2020
  • Price ₹599.00
  • ISBN : 9781526615862
  • Length : 288 pp

About the Book

Restless, ambitious Ilyas was stolen from his parents by the Schutzruppe askari, the
German colonial troops; after years away, he returns to his village to find his parents
gone, and his sister Afiya given away.
Hamza was not stolen, but was sold; he has come of age in the schutztruppe, at the
right hand of an officer whose control has ensured his protection but marked him for life.
The century is young. The Germans and the British and the French and the Belgians
and whoever else have drawn their maps and signed their treaties and divided up Africa.As they seek complete dominion they are forced to extinguish revolt after revolt by the colonised. The conflict in Europe opens another arena in east Africa where a brutal war devastates the landscape. Hamza does not have words for how the war ended for him. Returning to the town of his childhood, all he wants is work, however humble, and security – and the beautiful Afiya.
As these interlinked friends and survivors come and go, live and work and fall in love,
the shadow of a new war lengthens and darkens, ready to snatch them up and carry
them away.

About the Author

Abdulrazak Gurnah is the author of nine novels: Memory of Departure, Pilgrims Way,
Dottie, Paradise (shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the Whitbread Award), Admiring
Silence, By the Sea (longlisted for the Booker Prize and shortlisted for the Los Angeles
Times Book Award), Desertion (shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize) The
Last Gift and Gravel Heart. He was Professor of English at the University of Kent, and
was a Man Booker Prize judge in 2016. He lives in Canterbury.

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet

You may also like

Recently viewed by You