Save 15%
SKU: 9780670096558

Rs. 510 Rs. 599
Add to Wishlist


  • Pub Date : Feb – 2022
  • Author : V.J. James,
  • Ministhy S. (Tr.)
  • Publisher : Vintage Books
  • Category : Fiction
  • Binding Type : Hardback
  • Price : 599
  • ISBN : 9780670096558


Is it possible for society to exist without religion? Nireeswaran, the
most celebrated of Malayalam novelist V.J. James' works, uses incisive
humour and satire to question blind faith and give an insight into what
true spirituality is.

Three atheists, Antony, Sahir, and Bhaskaran, embark on an elaborate prank
to establish that God is nothing but a superstition. They instal a mutilated
idol of Nireeswaran, literally anti-god, to show people how hollow their
religion is. Their plan starts turning awry when miracles start being
attributed to Nireeswaran-a man waking up from coma after twenty-four
years, a jobless man ineligible for government employment getting a
contract, a prostitute turning into a saint leading hordes to turn up to
worship the fake deity. The trio is put in a quandary. Will they fight their own
creation? Is their intractable minds an indication that atheism is a religion in
itself? Belief and disbelief, it is possible, are two sides of the same coin.


V.J. James writes in Malayalam. Born and brought up in Changanacherry,
Kerala, he currently resides in Thiruvananthapuram. An engineer by
profession, he worked at Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. His debut novel
Purappadinte Pusthakam was awarded the DC Silver Jubilee Award (1999),
Malayattoor Prize and Rotary Literary Award. Other awards include the O.V
Vijayan Award and Thikkurissi Award for Anti-Clock, and the Thoppil Ravi
Award, Kerala Bhasha Institute Award, Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award,
Basheer Puraskaram and Vayalar Award for Nireeshwaran. The English
translation of Chorashasthram was shortlisted for the Atta Galatta Bangalore
Literature Festival Book Prize. The Malayalam film Munthirivallikal
Thalirkkumbol starring Mohanlal and Meena is an adaptation of his short
story Pranayopanishath. Along with six short story collections, his major
works include Purappadinte Pusthakam (1999), Chorashasthram (2002),
Dathapaharam (2005), Leyka (2006), Ottakkaalan Kakka (2013), Nireeshwaran
(2014) and Anti-Clock (2018).

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet

You may also like

Recently viewed by You